We use Cookies to give you a smooth, enjoyable and safe experience using this website and to provide relevant and helpful advertising from Google. If you are happy with this then simply click the green OK.OK

You can opt to not enable the advertising Cookie by clicking here. You can learn more by reading our privacy policy.

stovesonline telephone contact logo 0845 226 5754

The Clean Air Acts of 1956 and 1968

Smoke Control Areas

The Clean Air Acts of 1956 and 1968

The UK's Industrial Revolution in the 18th and 19th centuries was powered by coal and factories were often very near, or in, the cities. Coal burning in the home on stoves and fireplaces was also very common for heating. Air pollution was often very great and when it was foggy pollution levels rose and 'Smogs' were formed bringing cities to a standstill and causing many deaths.

Legislative controls on industrial emissions helped somewhat, but people were still burning a lot of coal on multifuel stoves and fireplaces for domestic heating.

After the Great London Smog of 1952 killed around 4,000 people the Clean Air Acts of 1956 and 1968 were introduced. These gave local authorities powers to control emissions of smoke and to declare Smoke Control Areas where burning fuel that produces smoke is banned. Many towns and cities now have smoke control areas especially in city centres and they have been effective in controlling the levels of smoke.

Smoke Control Areas

You are not allowed to burn fuel that emits smoke in a smoke control area either in a stove or fireplace. You are permitted to burn smokeless fuels on multifuel stoves and fireplaces.

Visit the following website for a full List of Smoke Control areas and exempt appliances.

Read more about Defra stoves here and we have a list of all our Defra approved stoves here.

If in doubt contact your local authority. They can tell you if you are in a smoke control area and will have details of permitted fuels and appliances.

you can pay for your stove with us by Paypal pay for your stove by visa pay for your stove by mastercard pay for your stove by maestro pay for your stove by delta card

Stovesonline Ltd, Flightway, Dunkeswell Business Park , Dunkeswell , Devon , EX14 4RD
0845 226 5754, info@stovesonline.co.uk, Contact Us
© Stovesonline Ltd. VAT: 801261871, Company: 04636920. Registered in England, UK